OH SUGAR!

Writing a Book (Part 8): What happens when you’ve wanted to be an author all your life and you finally see a copy of your first published book?

Today was a day much like any other EXCEPT for one remarkable thing: a nice chap from the editorial team presented me with a copy of my first ever published book Oh Sugar!

So… what happens when you’ve wanted to be an author all your life and you see a printed copy of your book for the first time?

You hold the book in your hands and stare at it as if it’s some exotic creature just beamed down from outer space.

Hello book. I wrote you.

Then you stare some more. And squint a bit.

Is that really my name on the front cover?

Then you think perhaps you ought to take a peek inside. You open the pages cautiously (half wanting to and half not wanting to – just in case something really bad flies out).

Oh my God, it looks reeeeeeally good!

You breathe a sigh of relief. The design team have done a great job. It’s beautifully laid out. It feels ‘friendly’. And most importantly, it’s seriously easy to read.

You know that feeling you get when you’re excited about reading a book and you start the first pages, full of enthusiasm… but it’s so long-winded and complicated you start losing the will to live… and then two seconds later your brain cells implode?

My book won’t do that.

I promise.

But that’s not the reason for this post. I just wanted to say… I saw my finished book for the first time today and now I feel like a bona fide author.

Hurrah!!

8 thoughts on “Writing a Book (Part 8): What happens when you’ve wanted to be an author all your life and you finally see a copy of your first published book?

  1. Hurrah and hooray and happy day! What a special moment. Chuffed for you that you’ve acheived one of your lifelong dreams. :-) xx

    PS: I hope that’s virtual snow on your blog. Otherwise my vision is going and I’m about to faint.

    Like

    1. Thank you thank you… ticking a lifelong dream off my list has made me feel so much more confident in myself (no one else would necessarily be able to tell, but I definitely can). Thank you for all your support and encouragement. And yes, that is virtual snow you are seeing, aint it loverly? :-)

      Like

Leave a comment here

